Stop the Grumble

And do not grumble. - 1 Corinthians 10:10

Whatever you do, do it ALL for the glory of God! – 1 Corinthians 10:31

When the laundry pile is beyond overwhelming … do not grumble, do it all for the glory of God!

When the floors are sticky and need to be mopped yet again … do not grumble, do it all for the glory of God!

When the kids throw a major tantrum in the middle of the grocery shopping and everyone stares … do not grumble, do it all for the glory of God!

When the ceiling is covered in lady bugs and there is no clue as to where they are coming from … do not grumble, do it all for the glory of God! (or in this case, in all things give thanks.)

When there is another diaper to change, another accident to clean up, more homework to do, the list goes on and on and one … do not grumble, do it all for the glory of God!

This is definitely something I am working on – constantly. It is easy for me to get annoyed, roll my eyes and let out a big, make sure everyone around me can hear, sigh. This way everyone knows I am not pleased. I am grumbling. But, what good does this bring me? What good does it bring my husband, my children, those around me? Pretty sure – zero, none, absolutely no good!

Wouldn’t things be different if I could just smile, thank the Lord and roll with it? Wouldn’t my day be more enjoyable? Wouldn’t I be a more pleasant gal to be around? So, I’m working on GENUINELY letting go of the grumble (because a forced smile is just not going to cut it anymore) and doing what needs to be done for the glory of God. Will you join me?

This entry was posted in Livn' Life, My Heart, Lessons Learned and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stop the Grumble

  1. Midge Edmond says:

    Oh so you are reading my mail! Thanks for the “cold water” slap…I needed it! (You write beautifully!)

  2. Shelley says:

    God is good! This is just what I needed to hear this morning. It was a rough night in my house with my 18 month old son. I was stomping my feet through the house (just so my husband would hear me) and huffing and puffing because my child was whining and not feeling the best. His sleeping habits are off kilter right now and my actions are NOT very pleasing to the Lord! Thank you for this :)

  3. This is so good!! The lady bug referance really stood out because I’m going through the same thing…So often I find myself wanting to grumble about situations, but then I look at the stituation for the positive which can come out of it. By finding it allows me to recieve a great piece of mind, not only that but good for the soul too.

  4. Merydith says:

    I needed this today!

Comments are great!

