27:17 Christmas: Keep It Simple

27:17 Christmas Series Guest Blogger: Beth Marshall

Hey moms! I heard today people are camping outside of Best Buy to be first in line for Black Friday shopping! I’m not kidding. Five nights of creepy concrete camping to find a deal. I remember attempting some crazy things when our kids were little in hopes of creating a ‘perfect Christmas.” Are you tempted to decorate everything in your home without a pulse? I was.

As a mom of three grown kids and two (most precious) baby grand nuggets I want to let you in on a secret. A lot of the stuff we stress about in the next seven weeks really doesn’t matter. Whew. I said it. Wish I’d known that a long time ago.

What our kids remember are things like kitchen disasters decorating cookies, the tires all falling off the cabbage patch car on Christmas morning, and running down the stairs in pajamas to see if Santa came. Every year their dad would read the Christmas story from the bible before opening presents. It’s funny but those are the things I remember when I was a kid-making gingerbread men with my mom, taking groceries to a family, and going Christmas caroling.

This year before the sugar plums start dancing in your head, would you take a moment and enjoy this Simple Christmas video? I wish you a beautiful Christmas season.

Don’t miss out on these great guests posts – subscribe to receive them via email on the top right side corner. 
This entry was posted in 27:17, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 27:17 Christmas: Keep It Simple

  1. Vanessa says:

    Beth – thank you so much for the reminder to keep it simple. It’s so easy to get distracted and carried away on things that really don’t matter. I’m letting go of the stress! Thanks! :)

Comments are great!

